Posted on

Masonic Presidents of the United States of America

Masonic Presidents of the United States of America

Many think that “all” or “most” Presidents of the United States were Masonic Presidents. This is generally a claim to support a hoax that Freemasonry is an un-American conspiracy theory, when in fact, the actuality is that only a minority of Presidents were Masons. It is a select group, and does include some of America’s most prominent, and historically notable Presidents, however far from living up to the conspiracy theory that Freemasons control America through Masonic Presidents they control.

George Washington (1732 – 1799)

George Washington was the first President of the United States of America from 1789 thru 1796. The hero of American Independence was initiated on November 4, 1752, in the Lodge at Fredericksburg Virginia and raised in 1753.

James Monroe (1758 – 1831)

Fifth President. 1817 thru 1825. He was initiated in Williamsburg Lodge No. 6 at Williamsburg Virginia, when he was hardly 18 years of age. He stopped studying and left for the battle front. He became a Fellowcraft and Master Mason in a military Lodge during the war.

Andrew Jackson (1767 – 1845)

Seventh President. 1829 thru 1837. He received the three Craft degrees in Harmony Lodge No. 1, at Nashville TN. He was Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Tennessee, October 1822 thru October 1824. Honorary member of Federal Lodge No. 1, at Washington D.C.; he was also a Royal Arch Mason.

James Knox Polk (1795 – 1849)

Eleventh President. 1845 thru 1849. Initiated, passed and raised in 1820 in Columbia Lodge No. 21, Columbia TN. He was Junior Deacon in 1820 and then Junior Warden of that same Lodge. He was also a member of Mark and Royal Arch.

James Buchanan (1791 – 1868)

Fifteenth President. 1857 thru 1861. Initiated on December 11, 1816 in Lancaster Lodge No. 43, at Lancaster PA., passed and raised in 1817. Junior Warden in 1821 and 1822, then Worshipful Master in 1825. Became a life member in 1858; He was also Deputy Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania.

Andrew Johnson (1808 – 1875)

Seventeenth President. 1865 thru 1869. Andrew Johnson succeeded Abraham Lincoln after President Lincoln was fatally shoot. Andrew Johnson was initiated, passed, and raised in 1851 at Greenville Lodge No. 19, at Greenville TN. A Knight Templar, he was also the first President who took up the degrees of the Scottish Rite in which he received the 32 degree in June 1867.

James Abram Garfield (1831 – 1881)

Twentieth President in 1881. He was initiated on November 19, 1864 in Columbus Lodge No. 246 at Garrettsville OH., passed the same year, and raised in 1865. He was Chaplain in 1868 and 1869. He was also a member of Pentalpha Lodge No. 23, at Washington D.C.; He was also a member of both the York and Scottish Rites.

William McKinley (1843 – 1901)

Twenty-fifth President. 1897 thru 1901. Initiated in Hiram Lodge No. 21, at Winchester VA. on May 1, passed on May 2, and raised on May 5 1865. He was affiliated with Canton Lodge No. 60, at Canton OH. He was also a member of the York Rite.

Theodore Roosevelt (1858 – 1919)

Twenty-sixth President. 1901 thru 1909. He was initiated on January 2 1901, passed on March 27 and raised on April 24 of the same year in Matinecock Lodge No. 806, at Oyster Bay, NY. Made an honorary member of Pentalpha Lodge No. 23, at Washington D.C.; He took an active part in numerous Masonic Ceremonies.

William H. Taft (1857 – 1930)

Twenty-seventh President. 1909 thru 1913. He was also Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court in 1921. He was made a Mason ‘at sight’ on June 18, 1909 by Grand Master Charles S. Hoskinson. He was affiliated with Kilwinning Lodge No. 356, on April 14, at Cincinnati, OH., then made an honorary member of Crescent Lodge No. 25, at Cedar Rapids, IA.

Warren G. Harding (1865 -1923)

Twenty-ninth President. 1921 thru 1923. He was initiated on June 18, passed on August 13 and raised on August 23, 1920. He became an honorary member of Albert Pike Lodge No. 36, at Washington D.C. in 1921. He was also a member of both the York and Scottish Rites. He was a 33rd degree Scottish Rite Mason and the first President who ever became a Shriner.

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882 – 1945)

Thirty-second President. 1933 thru 1945. He was initiated on October 11, passed on November 14, and raised on November 28, 1911 in Holland Lodge No. 8, New York City, NY. Elected honorary member of Stansburg Lodge No. 24, Washington D.C. He was also a member of the Scottish Rite.

Harry S. Truman-33rd Degree (1884 – 1972)

Thirty-third President. 1945 thru 1953. He was initiated on February 9, and raised on March 18, 1909 in Belton Lodge No. 450, at Belton Missouri. He served as Junior Warden of that Lodge, 1940 – 1941. He was Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Missouri. He was also a member of the York Rite and a 33rd degree member of the Scottish Rite.

Lyndon B. Johnson (1908 – 1973) EA never went on.

Thirty-sixth President. 1963 thru 1969. He was initiated on October 30, 1937 in Johnson City Lodge No. 561, at Johnson City, TX. While President Johnson did become an Entered Apprentice, or an initiate into Freemasonry, he never became a full member of the Fraternity by becoming a Master Mason.

Gerald R. Ford-33rd Degree (1913 – 2006 ) Last Mason To Be President

Thirty-eighth President. 1974 thru 1977. He was initiated on September 30, 1949, in Malta Lodge, at Grand Rapids MI. He was raised on May 18, 1951, in Columbia Lodge No. 3, at Washington D.C., by proxy of Malta Lodge. He was awarded the Distinguished Achievements Medal in 1974.

As another note of Masonic connection, William J. Clinton was DeMolay but never went on to become a Mason.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments